Motivation, Drive, and Knowing What You Want.

So the other day, as my coworker was driving me and another one of our coworkers to a lunch, we listened to one of her motivational speaker recordings. One of the ramblings the guy talked about struck me because I never really thought about it much when I was young. The topic was how some people go through life accepting what others tell them to do, while other people go on through life doing what they want to do.

The reason why I have never really thought about this is because growing up, I always had an idea what I wanted to be. It started out with being a lawyer, computer engineer, or a programmer. As I grew older, I realized that being a lawyer wasn’t for me. The billable hours and the possibility of putting my ideals aside to represent a client didn’t appeal to me. So from there, I went with the goal of getting into a college program revolving around computer technology. In the end, I graduated with a computer engineering degree with the goal of being a programmer. Presently I’m not a programmer, but at least I had a self decided goal that I ultimately accomplished.

Some of my friends however didn’t grow up with the same drive as I did. By the time we were high school seniors, many of them didn’t know what they wanted to study or what they wanted to do in life. In a sense, I don’t blame them. To have to decide by the time you’re 17 or 18 is tough, especially when you’re not old enough or exposed to the world enough to understand all the challenges you will have to face for the rest of your life. This lack of direction however results in a slight delay in life. For many of my friends, their college choices and career paths turned out fine. For some of them, the path twisted and turned, resulting in a more difficult or less direct path to their goal.

So what’s the point of this post? This post is meant to raise awareness to this lack of direction some people have. Rather than listen to other people and let them decide your future, why not decide it yourself? At the end of the day, the person who has to go through the challenges of life for their particular life path is you, not the people telling you what to do. All of us walk our own individual paths. The people we’re exposed to day to day merely have paths that intersect with ours.Very few of these advisers. friends, and family will have a path that runs in parallel with yours for long. All you can do is take their advice into mind as you decide your own fate and figure out what you want. From there, you need the persistence and focus to finish what you set your mind to.

Thanks for reading. Feel free to comment below.

One thought on “Motivation, Drive, and Knowing What You Want.

  1. Bryce Gorman

    I’m glad that you’ve had this drive in you, I know it is very hard to motivate the people around me that I love to do the things they love and it drives me to the edge but I love them and can’t let go of them.

Leave a Reply

